Skip to content

One Snip Does Not A Haircut Make.

May 7, 2009

change-we-can-believe-in

Come on, Mr. President.  You’re gonna have to do better than this.

The change I voted for promised a new age in fiscal responsibility and a reversal of the trends and policies of the last eight years.  That included cutting spending in order to get us out of the hole we’re in.

President Bush, the biggest spender in history, proposed a spending cut of $34 billion last year.  I LOL’d.

And the best you can come up with is $17 billion?

I’ve been defending your big spending over your first 100 days because I really do believe that we need to invest now in the right things in order for us to reap the rewards later.  And I was convinced that you would go through the budget line by line, as you promised, to reduce wasteful spending and make a dent in this huge deficit left behind by George W. Bush.

But cutting $17 billion in a $3.4 trillion budget isn’t really a “dent,” now is it.

You’re 100 days in, Mr. President, so I’m giving you the benefit of the doubt.  At least for now.  I know you’ve got your hands full, and you’ve got a lot to take care of.  So I’m crossing my fingers that you get this fiscal stuff right.

But right now… it ain’t looking so hot.

Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

